*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2000-05-09��weekend fun.

Here is the email I sent to the Recap Peeps.

Fuck! I just wrote a lot of shit and then I went to copy it in notepad and it was all gone....FUCKING broken CTRL button!!!

Okay, let's start over. I am glad that tomorrow is the last day of the tour so I can have a few months to recover. I love my boys, but it's nice to have some time off.

This weekend was great and went off without a hitch. The weather was great, the people were nice, amusing things were said and seen. "Bad, bad things," to quote Olivia. ;)

Olivia and I were supposed to go to Robyn's upon arriving in B'ham but since it was an hour south we opted not to. So, we hung around 5 Pts, mostly at a Planet Smoothie, laughing at a review in a weekly that called Jump "obnoxious." After a time we went back to the venue to wait for Robyn and met Amber Hasty and her friend. Robyn showed up and we 3 went inside to change clothes and watch soundcheck. Besides the

staff we were the only people there. We helped Robyn set up and listened. We talked to Matt a little too. I told him I liked his hair. He said he felt it was too short and too dark. But everyone I asked thought it looked good.

After Robyn handed out the party favors she usually brings to shows (glow bracelets, chinese yo-yos) Olivia and I took our places in the empty space before the stage-- front, slightly to the right. When doors opened, a horde of young ladies surrounded us. It was quite cramped. The funny part was, about 6 people back, there was no one. But the people around were nice and we all got along.

The opening band, Will Hoge, was a big improvement over Astrojet, who had cancelled. Will and his band acutally seemed to give a shit abut what they were doing, imagine that.

The little movie played for the last time, and the show began. Matt had on red vinyl pants and was barefoot. Katie Thompson's brother Doug was Little Bobby this time, so she came up between me and Lindsay (his girlfriend) to see better.

They played Lannigans, 15 Stories, and all of Sean O for my friend Chris Slack-- I don't know how many people there and on Opium now realize how signifigant this is. Matt sang I Wanna Be Sedated. It was a good show. At one point someone passed up two bright pink boas, because God knows they need more boas. Jay put one on. For some reason, at one point Jay kept sticking his tongue in and out.

After the show I went outside to the car to change my shirt. Then I went back and hung around, going in and out, meeting people, getting things. A lot of people, including some of the band, were outside.

Inside, Sarah and I talked to Matt as he packed up, as Olivia used up her roll of film. I told him that since he cited me in the Notes, people had been nicer to me, my page had more hits, and little girls had been IM'ing me with stupid questions. We shared a moment of disgust. Matt said that he did indeed read all the quotes, which amused me terribly. I asked him if he remembered reading ones by Chrissy, and he said, quite quickly, "The talkative one who wants to get in everybody's pants?" and I about died. I did way more talking with Matt than usual and I can't quite remember it all.

I told Matt about a 68 Comeback Elvis postcard I had gotten at Stuckey's that day and he expressed the desire to have a leather-type suit deal himself. Sarah and I had left-handed bonding after I talked about the Jimi Hendrix postcard. Stephanie Anne and I bonded over both of us being too skinny to wear our glow bracelets on our wrists (we put them just below our biceps.)

Olivia had an anime caricature for Matt to sign. He admitted to having put it on his desktop for 3 days, so happy was he that someone had drawn a picture of him. Before the show, at the merch table, I had told him that if I put my mind to it I could do some kick-ass pictures of them, and he looked delighted, so now I HAVE to do it. Sigh.

Everyone was basically gone now. Olivia still needed to use up her film. So we went backstage. Sara and Chris Carr were there, talking to Evan. Olivia took a picture of Ward with two bananas and a bag of oranges on his head. "It's Carmen Miranda," I commented, thinking of Mari. I told Ward that I had gotten an unlabeled boot that required some research; it had a mystery song on it that even Chris Slack didn't know. He had to ask Doug, who hadn't heard it but said it was one Ward had written. Ward seemed rueful about the whole affair. Apparently, that was the only time that song of his was ever played.

Ward went on to try to put the fruit in the PNF and was interrupted by Olivia's friends The Ho Girls. Olivia and I talked briefly to Jay. I thanked him for playing Sean O.

Jay found the stick of chalk Olivia had put next to the PNF and returned it to us; she and I drew on the concrete floor briefly. I don't remember what I wrote other than my name....

Matt came downstairs wearing the pink bunny ears Robyn had given them, laden with fruit and a bottle of cranberry juice, all of which he said belonged to Jay. It was priceless to see. We went outside, where Ward was still talking to The Ho Girls, who would later leave in a car with Vance and Jonny. I kind of talked to them the next day; they're sweet girls, but they're definitely ho's.

Sara, Chris Carr, Olivia, Robyn and I just sort of hung outside. Sara and Chris talked to the Bivinses. We did too, a little, but it was mostly them.

We followed Robyn home and watched Tater Tomater and a compilation tape of Olivia's, which featured get-well messages from the guys for her sister Kathy. Ward's idea of a get-well message was sticking his tongue up his nose (!).

I had a brief dream that Matt ate dinner with me and my parents.

The next day we ate strawberries that Robyn's mother had picked. They were great. Olivia and I opted to not go to Nashville the next day, like Robyn was. We set off for Huntsville.

Northern Alabama is pretty; it's Southern Alabama that's the problem. In Huntsville we ate at KFC and I spouted various witticisms: Evan getting beaten up by a vicious gang of ballerinas, Jay's head being a pinata with Smarties, Goobers, Sugar Daddies and Nerds inside. I think Dum-Dums would be good too.

When we arrived at the airfield where the show would be, Robyn went off to get her merch together and Olivia and I walked around in the heat. We found Shannon. There wasn't much to do until Jump came on at about 8. We sat behind the merch table for a while. We met Robyn's friend Paul, who was a Goth vampire type who was seeing Jump for the first time. Off to the side, from a distance, we caught a glimpse of Matt in his Farmer Weird hat and horizontally striped jeans; we screamed at his pants.

We got lemonade and soft pretzels and went to see Jump set up. We were about at the same place as before, only second row. The evening sky was beautiful and the stage lighting was gorgeous. It kicked our asses.

They played Lannigans again and were entertaining. The festival was not the best festival by any means, but Jump came through.

After the show, we went back to sit behind the merch table to help Robyn and to observe as the boys signed at the table to the left. Evan apparently stayed in the trailer, the bitch. Paul said that he had really enjoyed Jump. Foreigner was beginning to play on the other stage. As they signed, Ward was eating a lollipop, and oh, lord....It was just amazing. Damn.

Matt came over to where Olivia and I were sitting and crouched down with us, after I patted his leg and asked him where he got his pants. He told us about a place in NYC called 21st Century, where they had couture for cheap (his pants were irregular, in all possible meanings of the word) and told us about a suit that they had, but not in his size. I patted his knee reassuringly.

My shoes off, I stood up to talk to Shannon and Ian and Rae and Matt after Olivia took off to go watch Stir on the stage that Jump had just vacated. Ward had taken off, presumably to go see Foreigner (this was in fact true.) I talked to Allison and Amber from up North, too, who had recognized me at the VP show but since I didn't know who they were, they thought I didn't like them. But it's all made up and we're cool now. :)

I got the little Stuckey's bag of postcards (5) and showed them to Matt: the Elvis one, two of Jimi Hendrix, one of Chief Joseph of the Nez Perce, and another Elvis one that was a poster of a movie, and said, "Elvis Presley, You're the Greatest!" I hadn't intended to give them away but since he liked that one, I let him have it. "Anne Martinez, you're the greatest!" he said. It was funny.

Foreigner was over, and Ward and Jonny came running back, all, WOOOO, Foreigner. I called Jonny over and told him I liked his shirt-- it was Panama style with green vertical stripes of various colors. I told him we were hoping he wouldn't change out of it, but he said it would have gotten messed up. He commented on how his belly stuck out. I couldn't resist the urge to poke it. Then Stir started playing "Crazy Train" and the guys ran over there. After that, the last song of the night was "Rock N Roll All Night," which was a great way to end.

We went home with Rae and Ian, who lived very close by. Olivia and I stayed up giggling for a long time. We woke up about noon and didn't leave til like 5? Rae and Ian were very sweet, and I'm not just saying that because Rae will get this. ;)

Whew, that's about it. I have to eat and get my pics developed. I hope I didn't leave anything out. I hope Olivia made it home safely.

*******

That wasn't every little thing, of course, but it sums it up. Maybe I should put the other few recaps up.

One more show. Shannon is driving me there but since she wants to stay til Fri I think I'll stay with Loni and come home the next day.

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade