*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2000-10-16��welcome to the dollhouse

Have you ever seen the movie "Welcome to the Dollhouse," for which this entry is titled? It was a pretty big indie film a few years ago and it's aired on Bravo from time to time. The main character, Dawn Weiner, is in junior high, and she's the laughingstock of the school. Her parents openly prefer her cute little sister. Her older brother is a nerdy jerk.

I was not ridiculed in junior high and high school; I was ignored, but that doesn't mean some scenes in the movie didn't hit close to home. It's an emotionally jarring movie, even as it is bitterly funny in parts.

For instance, Dawn's brother has a klezmer band in his garage. He plays the clarinet and there are two other nerds in the band as well. One day Dawn hears them practicing from her room, but this time there's a guy singing. She goes downstairs. Heather Matarrazo does not have very much dialogue, but you know what is going on. There's some long-haired hunky type guy on lead.

Dawn goes on to get one of the most pathetic and hopeless crushes I have ever witnessed in the media. I mean, you just want to go in there and say, "Honey, no...." and put her out of her misery or something.

I've been feeling like Dawn Weiner lately. :) Ever since I saw the movie for the first time, which was a few months ago, I was like, "Dude. I resemble that remark."

Another scene that really hits me is when Dawn, at dinner, refuses to say that she loves her sister, and with good reason. The mom furiously refuses to serve Dawn any chocolate cake, putting Dawn's piece next to her plate. When Dawn's sister overly-sweetly asks if she can have Dawn's piece, the mother makes a big show out of dividing it between her sister and brother. Dawn still refuses to say she loves her sister, and they leave her at the table alone. I don't know, that cake thing really gets me.

I should go eat soon, and then read my assignments. Bleh. I hate Mondays. Things to do, and I don't feel like doing them.

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade