*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2001-07-19��grammar rant (yes, I am a nerd)

I really want to know why it is that if I have nothing to do all day, I don't do anything. Not even the things I said I would do if I had time! I guess I need to keep busy with actual responsibilities. I wish I could!

These jeans I bought at Old Navy would seem to be the same size and style, more or less, as the two I bought there weeks ago, only a different color. However. These are frickin' huge. I have only washed them once, and that might be it, but I could swear they're mislabeled. They're practically falling off. But when I hold them up to another pair that fit me well, they're pretty much the same -- slightly larger, due to the fact that the older ones have shrunk, but there's no real difference. What the shit? Anyway, they're cheap enough, and they're okay for around the house. Maybe they'll shrink to fit eventually.

I really want to write a big ole entry about the way I judge people based on their writing and language skills. I think I might.

I taught myself to read when I was 4. That is, I don't remember learning. I just started. In school, I was always a fast, advanced reader. I made up for the abysmal grammar education I "received" throughout my years in Georgia Public Schools by learning from the books I read. When I defined vocabulary words in class, the other kids accused me of copying the dictionary. Sneef, my life is so hard. Anyway, I was always a good speller, a fast reader, you get the drift. I scored in the 99th percentile on the Verbal section of the SAT. There was a marked difference in my performance on the mathematical part of the test, and that's all I'm going to say. Oy.

Anyway, this is pretty much my aptitude. And as such, I have a certain amount of contempt, deserved or not, for people who fail to grasp the basic concepts of English. Does this make me a snob? Sure. And hey, any math nerds out there can make the same case to me and look down on me for not having a natural aptitude for math, and that's fine. I simply find it annoying when people can't be bothered to remember how to use punctuation marks and capital letters. Sure, not everyone gives a crap. And yeah, if you're in a hurry and it's your style, rock on. But don't expect anyone to take you seriously, on a professional level, if you can't spell and write decent sentences. You would not believe the number of errors that exist in published documents, signs, et cetera. I find it distracting to read perfectly lovely online comics/stories that are rife with errors. I find it especially irritating because I'm trying to find a job correcting this shit, and there it is staring me in the face all the time. :P

I don't claim to be Grammar Queen or even to relish all the bizarre rules and intricacies of the English language. I don't demand perfection from everyone. But I do expect people to realize that not everyone tolerates their sloppy writing.

Well, now that's out of my system.

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade