*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2001-07-26��a light at the end of the unemployment tunnel

Eeee, I'm all excited! The recruiter for entry-level positions at CNN replied to my e-mail that I sent him at Manashi's urging, and asked for my resume, references, and availability. So I sent my resume, references, and a cover letter to Manashi that she faxed, and she sent hard copies through interoffice mail. :) Manashi just kicks ass. I hope to hear from the recruiter later this week. Let's see, that would be, uh, tomorrow. It could happen. This is the link he sent to me; if you want to read more about VJing at CNN, go there.

I've encountered what is now the AOL/Time Warner family before: I worked at a Warner Brothers Studio Store for an uncomfortable summer, and I also even did some work for Turner Classic Movies (got to tour the Techwood offices, which includes the Cartoon Network). They had a "Pop-Up Video" type program that allowed Web users to see little factoids every few minutes as they watched a movie. I got "West Side Story" (my film professor at the time had a friend who supervised this; that's how I got that job) and so I had a sheaf of reference material to look through, and decide what was of interest, and where in the movie to put it. I had to write down the fact and what minute into the film it would be placed with. I watched the movie several times. I think I made like $250 with that. It was a one-time thing.

I also "interviewed" the Braves twice (they're owned by Ted Turner), both times before a game, during batting practice. I was so very timid. I got to do this because I wrote essays in that Arby's contest for high school juniors and seniors, and at the time, I was a big Braves fan. The first time was at Fulton County Stadium; the second was at Turner Field. Note: baseball players tend to be good-looking.

Also, GSU is just a few blocks away from CNN Center, so I'd go there every now and then because they have a pretty good food court. And when I became friends with Manashi, she gave me a tour once.

Oh, and I used to be obsessed with cartoons when I was in high school, and I know (or at least knew, since it was a while ago) a lot about Warner Brothers cartoons.

Last but not least, I hate Fox "News."

Can I have the job now?

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade