*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2001-10-28��just how lame is the phrase "really cool chick," dear readers?

Thank you to the person in my guestbook who told me how this looked on a Macintosh. I didn't know that the letters didn't all line up. That's kind of distressing. I'll try not to think about it.

Well, today I cleaned my bathroom. That might not seem like a big deal to you, but you didn't see it before I cleaned it. Man. I think I'm going to have to get me some of that leave-in shower spray even though it seems kind of sketchy. I also wanted to be all new-agey and light a candle after I cleaned it, but I don't like to light matches and my parents would just be all, What do you want to light a candle for? No, it'll smell. Next week, time to clean my room, since I saw a huge-ass daddy long legs near my computer last night. Ugggh. That's a sign, I think.

So maybe you want to know what I did instead of going to the J,LC show in Birmingham Saturday night. We didn't feel like driving all that way when it seemed almost certain that we wouldn't be able to get in and we'd feel like complete tools. Turns out it was pretty easy to get in, but eh. Rather than being a dumbass in person, I'm okay with Amber randomly mentioning me to Matt and Ward and them praising me because they knew she was going to tell me what they said (like the other times I get mentioned when I'm not there in person), and I think Matt meant it but Ward is just too corny, and I'm not going to get into it any more because it is too ridiculous. hahaha Silly band, I miss them. I'm hoping for an Atlanta acoustic show near my birthday (December 7 and I'll be 23[!], since you asked).

But yeah, so Megan and Gene came to town anyway and we went shopping. To our surprise, there was a Halloween parade in L5P, resulting in a slighty higher percentage of slightly freakier looking people than usual. The scariest was the guy dressed as a Droog from "A Clockwork Orange." There were some marching bands (the drums are the coolest part) including a gay organization that played "These Boots are Made for Walking," and people in cars throwing candy.

As for the stores, Megan found a great brocade jacket in Stefan's Vintage Clothing that was basically made for her, and I found a black velvet floor-length, black-satin-lined hooded cape. I was kind of hesitant getting it, but I figured I wouldn't easily find one that cool again. We ate at Savage Pizza and went to Junkman's Daughter, but we overall bought hardly anything even though there are always pretty cool things in Little 5. At Criminal Records, I bought a Johnny the Homicidal Maniac anthology, "Revenge of Fillerbunny," a Lenore I didn't have, and a comic called "Dork," because of the name, and because it was funny. It's by the guy who draws Milk and Cheese.

Oh, and since I felt like I should buy music in a record store, I got a 2-CD set called "Buddha Beats" because of the cover art, and because it has Moby on it, and because one of the artists is named Jolly Mukherjee :-) It looks to be an interesting set of CDs (no, I'm not a Ward girl or anything, dude, shut up). It randomly came with a little paper package, inside of which is a tiny red tin of Essential Balm, which Sara tells me is ghetto mosquito-bite balm. I can't open the tin but it's cute.

We saw two kinds of votive candles and some incense that were opium-scented, and at least 5 items with Flying Vs on them. Insane.

I was at a thread on Fametracker about weird websites, and I clicked on one about Jack Chick, the unintentionally hilarious Christian tracts "writer."

Look at the bottom.

Dude. Sometimes you really gotta wonder.

This morning I woke up and Rufus Wainwright was on 99x singing Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah." I said aloud, "Do all the dark-haired pretentious effeminate guys have to sing this song?" There was something about Rufus' voice that irritated me -- "at least Jay doesn't sing it like he's got cotton in his mouth" -- but sometimes it hits me what a real tragedy it is that comparitively no one knows who Jay Clifford is.

Yesterday when looking at all those comic books I wanted to start drawing again. I had a dream last night that I tried to draw and it didn't quite work. I think that after 5 years of not-drawing it would take a lot of work to get back in the swing of things, but I do remember that nice feeling of accomplishment that I used to have so often.

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade