*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2002-01-10��copied from my lj

My dad just got the mail, and I got 1) the little doorhanger sign that says "Meditating" (laminated and with a silk cord and everything); 2) Understanding Buddhism; 3) most random of all, an unsolicited envelope from "Book Club Associates" inviting me to join "Venus," which essentially is an erotic book club. Huh. Interesting catalog, anyway. 5 Minutes to Orgasm, anyone? How about Kinky Crafts? Learn to make your own whipping posts and bondage belts.

Another one of the bookclub books is called Hot and Bothered. Heh.

Today I had to do some more call center monitoring. The center I'm working on is in Rochester, NY, and one of the guys I tend to monitor a lot because he's good said once that he was born and raised there. I find his accent (as well as the other agents, who presumably have lived in the area for some time) entertaining to listen to. They say things funny. Now those of you with Yankee accents are probably saying something like, "Yeeeah, right! You guys ah the ones sayin' things funny!" but I'm not trying to be mean. I think it's neat. They tend to be pretty loud, though.

No sooner had I finished The Accidental Buddhist than Being Nobody, Going Nowhere arrived. I plan to start on it tomorrow. It feels like today is Friday, but it's, well, not, and furthermore, we can't wear jeans tomorrow because a client is coming. Then on Monday we have to wear actual suits because a prospective client is coming. Whee.

Anyway, I plan to write the author of The Accidental Buddhist because I enjoyed his book a lot.

I think I was going to mention something else, but I can't re-- oh yeah. I got to do some actual copyediting today, on a fast food restaurant's shopper guidelines. It felt pretty good. I know that probably sounds incredibly boring, but that's my inclination, and I do want to someday be a copyeditor.

Oh yeah, also, I went to Lenny's Subs today and I was obviously the first person there, and there were 4 guys about my age working, and it struck me as funny because they were like "How are you," "Where do you work," "Thanks for stopping by." Wasn't mad enthused by the sub though. Not bad, just eh. I need to bring microwave meals. I'm tired of walking in the cold and paying upwards of $6 a day.

In the news, I hope this Enron thing goes all the way. I'm frankly surprised it got this far in terms of prosecution but I guess they figured it'd look worse if they tried to keep it under wraps. Someone has to pay for the fact that company bigwigs were allowed to sell their stocks -- prices dropped from $85/share to 69 cents -- and regular employees were forbidden from doing so, and therefore lost their life savings and retirement plans. I wonder how many of the people at this company -- not just the bigwigs, but the average employees -- which is based in Texas, were Republicans who cheered Bush's election. And of those Republicans who did get fucked over, I wonder how they tend to feel now about the strange notion that Republicans who advocate American corporations above all care about the average person. Well, these folks at Enron cared about their profits and knew damn well what they were doing.

Some of you out there could reply to this, saying "What about Democrats blah blah blah, Republicans blah blah, generalizing, etc." and yeah, I'm generalizing. But the fact is, Enron people are friends with people in the Bush administration, and they fucked hundreds of people over while saving their own asses. They destroyed papers. I wonder where this will go.

We haven't seen "Lord of the Rings" yet and it's been a month. We will probably be too busy this weekend to see it. My family is like a sloth family.

For those who care, the quiz results are more or less holding steady with over 700 responses, with the order now being Evan, Matt, Ward, Jonny, and Jay. Sometimes Jay comes before Jonny.

I'm not touching that one.

That's what she said.

Okay, that's it. ;-)

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade