*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2000-10-18��willful ignorance??

Yesterday before Jour 4040 there was a guy having a discussion near me about how he hates doing all this work in his classes, and how he doesn't need to be going to school since he knows people in trades who haven't got degrees who make $50K, and how he doesn't need to know about the Renaissance or whatever, it won't do him any good. This sort of crap baffles me. I can't imagine NOT wanting to know things. I mean, come on, deliberately choosing ignorance because you're too lazy to want to learn. The money issue isn't even part of it. Isn't knowledge its own reward? Don't I sound like a PSA? :)

Yesterday in the library the urge hit me to start drawing again. I might do it. It's just that I get so self-conscious when I'm drawing and it doesn't look right. Even if no one else will ever see it, I still get discouraged. But it's good for the neural pathways and besides, it's fun, I'm good at it.

Michele:

"it's funny that you say you were depressed after the show, because i was depressed that whole weekend. usually, their shows take me out of that mode, no matter how depressed i am, but this weekend's show barely had an effect on me. that, of course, was enough to depress me even more! everyone is saying that is one of their best shows ever, but i have to disagree. not even close!"

Loni was telling me about the dinner last night. Everything went well and they had a lot of fun. It would have been nice to have been there, but I probably would have messed it up somehow.

That brings us to the Self Pitying Moment of the Day:

I'm not going to Columbia this weekend. If I really tried, I could, but I don't want to go to the effort (plus it's too late), and possibly get sick of Jump for good. I think I'll try to see "Almost Famous" with Julie (well, perhaps that is not the best idea, but I do want to do something with her) and get some work done. I'll have to hear about the show and that will be irritating, as one of my most hated feelings is the sensation of being left out, but I still like to know details. Such is life.

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade