*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2001-01-18��you can plan a pretty picnic but you can't predict the weather

I am excited. My friend Chris is helping me pick out what I need in a computer, and we managed to find a great set-up at a computer place that is very, very near my house, relatively speaking. They don't seem to have very good monitors available there, though, so I might get the monitor from Julie and Trevor. I'm going to list the specs of this particular system.


K7-750 CPU/motherboard
20GB hard drive
128 MB PC-133 (memory)
16 MB AGP (video card)
32-bit sound card
3COM modem
52x CD-ROM
floppy
keyboard
mouse
speakers

We've been over it a few times and it way exceeds nearly all the RoadRunner recommendations (Chris says I'll only be using 1/3 of its total power), and all for 459. I still would need to install Windows 98 for $89 and buy a monitor, but the installation of RoadRunner is free with a current offer, so it all works out. I have to get a desk and chair too, but hey, those can be cheap. I'm almost excited enough to start cleaning and rearranging my room....

Last night I talked to Julie way too long and didn't get enough sleep but we had fun. On a whim we started doing "Jump, Little Star Wars" (aka "Star Wars, Little Children.") To our credit we didn't spend too long on it, probably because it practically writes itself. Matt is Luke ("...because Luke is annoying as hell," -me) Jonny is obviously Chewbacca (Julie envisioned Chewie as a bass player in frightening detail), and for a minute, we thought Evan would be Princess Leia, but that quickly led to all sorts of logic problems, and we made him Lando. Ha ha. I became Princess Leia for the hell of it, and because Ward had to be Han. (Shut up, you.) And finally, Jay is Darth Vader.

Julie confessed she is trying to decide between Matt and Ward, because she's eliminated everyone else (Jonny: too meaty, Jay: "His package scares me," Evan: "I'd break him in half").

I am also very, very pleased and grateful that Mike Lawson is treeing both nights of Dock Street. Last night and this morning I realized I still was upset in a more healed way about not having gone. It feels like I missed out on an important chunk of stuff (sorry, bad metaphor) that most of my friends shared, as I've said before. But the tree, and the fact that Nicole is planning an Opiate sleepover for next month that I hope will be well-attended (or as well as can be given the limited space) have made me feel better about it.

But, on a down note, last night and this morning I was also reflecting on the conflicting emotions I have towards my Jumpy friends. A lot of them only recently met each other in person, at Dock Street, and quite a lot of them knew each other because I "introduced" them online, or whatnot. And while I want all my friends to know each other and get along to the benefit of all of us, sometimes I feel like they're getting to be better friends with each other than they are with me, which is exasperating since I introduced a lot of them in the first place. Some things can't be helped, though. I guess it's like I told Olivia once: Sometimes nothing is enough for me.

To end on a brighter note, this morning I ate some blueberry Yoplait yogurt that was just like the one I ate at Loni's camp the day after the Greenville Jump show. :)

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade