*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2001-01-16��tea time

Hello there. There's a bit of a lull here at Atlanta over lunch hour (not that it's ever really rocking) so I'm going to jot down a few things. For instance, this past weekend's events. On Friday I went to see "Cast Away" with Lindsay at Phipps Plaza. First, we stopped by her dorm and I saw some of the Jump stuff she had in her room. It's so nice to see stuff you can relate too. Ha. So the movie was well-executed, but the end was kind of messy. However, during the parts on the island, it's as if you're really there with him. I reacted very viscerally to a lot of the things he went through. It's kind of a harrowing movie; it makes you wonder how well you'd survive if you were unfortunate enough to be in such a situation. But I think that keys into my whole morbid fascination deal.

After the movie, we ate pizza in the food court and tried to find stuff at the Gap. ("Welcome to the Gap, can I sell you some crap?") I think Lindsay was successful with one item. At the risk of sounding like I just fell off the turnip truck, I was amazed that that Gap had its own restrooms.

After that, we wandered around Phipps a little and finally went into a place called Elephant Tea that had all sorts of neat stuff. Every now and then I get into a fit where I think I like tea and want to drink it for its healthful benefits or whatever. So, with all the nice tea accessories and whatnot all around, and taking into account my unusual monetary restraint at the Gap, I blew thirty dollars on tea and tea accessories: A tea ball, a teaspoon (it was cute), two types of tea (Lemon Verbena & Mandarin Orange Green Tea) and two tea tins for the tasty tea. Well, it wasn't so tasty; it just smelled good. Oh well; my dad likes tea, at least. On the way to my place Lindsay and I joked about giving someone in Jump the "menu" they hand out at the place and getting them to go. Not too long ago I would have been way into that, but not now; I could give a damn where they get their tea. I'll probably give someone the menu anyway, though. I just won't be all, "I gave Jump a tea store brochure!" about it. You know what I mean.

Anyway, I have a little project to do for the magazine; I need to brainstorm about small items to put in the Food section, like the ones that typically compare cheesecakes and steaks at different places, or profile new restaurants. I think I might do something on noodles, if we haven't had anything like that recently. We'll see.

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade