*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2001-03-31��U2 wrap-up!

Okay, so, not too long ago I was about 10 feet away from Bono and a lot of the time I was thinking, "Matt Bivins will be so jealous!"

Now that I've admitted that shameful fact, here is a bit of stuff about the U2 show at Philips Arena.

I didn't know anyone else with floor tickets. Before the show, Tina and her friend Mandy and I met at CNN Center and had some Ice Dreams from Chick-Fil-A. Once we were let inside, they went to their seats on the 3rd level and I went down to the floor. After some hassles which included a security guy calling me "sir", I cautiously went where I was directed, which turned out to be inside the giant red "heart" that emcompasses the front part of the audience, and the first 300 people to arrive on the floor. I took my place about 4 people back from the stage.

I couldn't believe my luck because I hadn't really tried at all, so I whipped out the cell phone and called Loni, and then tried to call some other people who didn't answer. (Everyone around me when I first showed up was calling people, going "Dude!") We were all crowing that we had paid less but were getting a better view than the people in the seats. In order to make myself less likely to be bothered by drunks (I was a little, but could have been worse) I talked to Julie on my cell phone until the lights went out and Nelly Furtado came on. She was cute as a button but the drunk guys were really hollering on about her. They liked her, it was just annoying.

So then they were setting up all the lights and rigging and all the dudes in black hanging in the air with lights, and the roadies and everything, and it was such a production. Keep in mind this was my first big show.

Then U2 came on, and it was so exciting to see them. I was amazed by how close I was. Also, it was really amusing to hear women older than me holler on about how much they wanted to have sex with someone in the band, for once. (Also, as a side note, there were a lot more males around than I'm used to seeing at my typical shows.)

Bono had on a black leather jacket, black shirt and black jeans which he changed to black leather at the encore. The Edge had on one of his hats, nice jeans with studs on them and a tight red t-shirt with "55" on the front. I'm sorry, and this may not come as that much of a surprise, but I would take the Edge over Bono any day, being as Bono has little stubby pudgy fingers. Hey, we all know I have a thing for odd guitarists with strange facial hair.

It was all a happy blur so I can't really remember what they played in a really precise manner. "I Will Follow," "One," "Bullet the Blue Sky," etc. I wanted them to play "In God's Country" but they didn't. Oh well.

Bono would run around the top of the heart's walls and sing at people; at one point he kissed a girl. Up in front, he took a flower from a girl's boquet and kissed her hand. The Edge would come out and walk around too, and at times he and Bono would engage in subtle homoeroticism, making me doubt Jasmine's theory that U2 was the only band not formed because a bunch of guys had the hots for each other. God, I wish I'd had a camera. The effects were great and there were so many nice photo ops. But then again, I would have gotten preoccupied with taking pics.

After the show I bought a sleeveless babydoll black shirt, a black button with "U2" on it in white, and a cute pewter keychain. Then the gracious Manashi who works at CNN drove me home. And now I am on IM.

Oh yeah, as we were leaving, what should catch my eye but a Jump "girlie" shirt on a younger redhead. I stopped dead in my tracks. "That girl has a Jump shirt! That girl has a Jump shirt!" I exclaimed to Manashi as I pointed. I act weird after concerts.

Erin also told me yesterday about a thing you can download at Webshots that makes screensavers and desktops out of whatever photos you want; thought I'd throw that in.

Anyway, this was probably the only concert I've been to that makes me almost as happy as a Jump show does. It was really quite the experience. :)

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade