*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2001-08-10��i'm a sea creature.

Today I am working on my writing test for my CNN VJ application. I had to compress several AP wire stories into 60-70 word news stories and then state how long it took me to do; the last two of the four were pretty hard. It was similar to stuff I'd done in classes, though. I am currently working on the essay I have to submit on that old chestnut "Who would you most like to interview, and why, and what questions would you ask?" I decided to choose Victoria Woodhull because she was incredibly interesting and she did a great deal of things. If you don't know, she was the first woman to run for president of the United States, in 1872.

(Now I'm wondering if I should have capitalized "president" since it was followed by "United States." Such are the worries of a copyeditor.)

This activity is SO school-like in nature. It struck me, because this is the first year in a long, long time that I won't be going back to school. I may never go back to school ever again. I don't need to, that is. I had to buy a planner the other day at KMart because my old one is, well, old, and I felt kind of odd being in the school supplies section. Don't get me wrong, I have no desire to go back to paying $200 a semester for books, or writing papers (even though I was good at that, I didn't like it all that much) or all of that stuff.

However, school did provide a structure. I feel kind of like I've lost my moorings, because it's not all planned that I will go here at this time, and learn this, and turn this in. And while I dislike being told what to do (oh how I dislike that), it's nice to have guidelines and disciplined learning, and there are a lot of activities at school too. Additionally, a lot of my friends are going to school this year.

I kind of feel like a sea creature that has been loosened from the rock to which it has been anchored; I just have to float around and find another rock.

This weekend I have to fax my CNN application material, turn in the various applications I got at Lenox earlier this week (at Lindt-Sprungli, the chocolate store; Bare Escentuals, a little boutique; and the ever-present Bath & Body Works, which has a surprisingly intrusive application) and buy a harmonica. Yes. The UGA Jump show is Monday night, and my lesson is Wednesday night. Should be fun.

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade