*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2001-08-18��ah done get me a job.

Well, I kept saying all day that I would write about my interview, and here it is technically the next day! I'm such a bad person.

So I wore my Scully-suit, and my father and I drove around the area to see what restaurants and stores were in the immediate vicinity. There are quite a lot of places to eat, plus the office is near where both my dad and Chris' offices are, so that's good for lunch meetings and transportation issues, et cetera.

I filled out a simple application and then completed a proofreading test which included spelling and -- gasp! -- math problems! It has literally been years since I've done long division, but there weren't many questions and I did well on the speed test Amy gave later on, so I hope the math doesn't count too much.

So I talked to Amy, and she explained that while the want ads said "proofreading," the job is more quality-control auditing, that is, checking for accuracy. And that's fine. It's better than working in the mall for about half as much pay, with limited benefits.

Then after Amy gave me a tour of the office, I was sent to the president's office. She was a frank woman who knew that this wasn't a permanent-type job, and also wanted to make sure that I knew what the work involved, that it would be pretty boring but that suggestions were welcome. So she was the one that hired me. That was pretty cool.

On the way out, she added that the dress code was pretty much what I had on, which was a bit upsetting, seeing as this is the only suit I own. But I called Amy and left a message, and she called back and said that basically, khakis and plain shirts/blouses are fine. So since I'm going in at 10 Monday morning, I'm going to hit Old Navy and see if I can't find some decent stuff.

As for hours, I can either work Monday - Friday, with Saturday and Sunday off, or Sunday - Thursday, with Friday and Saturday off. (I'm pretty sure it'll be 8 - 5, whichever days I pick, rather than 9 - 6 or 10 - 7). If I had *ahem* something to do on a Saturday night and wanted to skip Sunday, I could work Friday in order to have enough hours total. If that makes sense. I don't have to decide just yet, though. I have to have a few days of training first.

It will be nice to be making money (I'm getting low) and have something new to do. While sitting on the computer all day after waking up at 11 is relaxing, it's not profitable and it tends to make me lazy. I'm not tremendously excited about the job, but I'm glad that I have one now, for the time being.

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade