*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2002-05-27��"who likes to fuck guys in bands?"

Wow, time for my monthly update. hahaha. So I'm actually trying to recap the Myrtle Beach show in a timely manner. I still need to recap the NE shows for this diary. I suck. Brooke and Rachel and I left Atlanta about 11:30, and headed off to Boo's new place in Florence. This was an important weekend for Brooke and Cha since they had just graduated high school, and this would be a ... I don't want to say "ending," but things will be different from now on. I was honored to be a part of it.

So we got to Megan's and I met her cat, Ziggy. Once we had transformed ourselves into hoes, we left for the venue fearing about traffic, but it wasn't a problem at all. We ate at an Arby's after finally getting the right exit, and then went to the actual venue, which had an Arby's next to it, so I guess we went to the wrong Arby's. Oh well.

Anyway, though we shouldn't have been surprised at all, we were embarrassed to find most of Jump bowling, but we got our tickets there at the alley, and some of our party were planning to bowl anyway. Brooke asked for a lane at the other end of the alley. I talked to Hung for a while since he and Tim were there to bowl too. I abstained from bowling and eventually went with Dave and Tessa to the front of the building and inside. Met up with a bunch of folks inside the darkened venue. Matt showed up in a weird outfit -- well, it was the socks and the shoes that were the puzzler -- but the tank top and the glasses were fine, oh yes. Matt complained to us about always having to call people and asked Lauren and I who the most obnoxious Opiate(s) was/were but we enforced our agreed-upon silence regarding such matters. I got myself a margarita and this random guy at the bar hit on me, which amused me because random people never hit on me. Jeremy showed up and unwittingly rescued me. When I came back, everyone was gone! So I went outside where the crowd had gathered, and stood with Dave and the Huffs. We had our little awards ceremony that Alison worked so hard on and it went swimmingly. I got Best Fansite, the Ward Award, and Favorite Old Skooler. I would never consider myself an old schooler, but hey. For my fansite award people were actually yelling "Speech! Speech!" at me and I think I was the only one who got that. So of course I blew it and said something dumb. For the Ward award, I really love that Matt had to say that thing about me being a Matt girl, despite winning the Ward award. Heh. Also, Adam DeLoach was there and said to let me know when I put my drink down so he could pick me up. I love Adam. Adam and Naked Dave picked me up a lot and after the show they met each other because of me. Awwww.

After inside and outside mingling Amy and I went to her car to find some materials with which to make a sign that said "Fifteen!" for the orgasms joke, to hold up at a certain point of the show. On our way back, there was Lauren Duffie parked nearby in her Rav 4, leaning out the window waiting for Matt to finish talking to Diana and Tina. I looooove Lauren. She waved at me. We talked for a bit and Lauren made fun of Matt's socks, then Matt came over and showed Lauren his awards when she asked. "I want to see you naked" was her response. He told me, "If there was a Favorite Opiate Award, you'd get her vote" and that Lauren loves me, an idea that I can't quite take seriously no matter how many times I hear it but is pleasing nonetheless. We talked a bit more and then he got in the car and they went to eat. I love them.

More milling around and socializing and whatnot. My dear Erin finally showed up. We watched Red Wanting Blue together and were quite unimpressed. But we needed to keep our place, dammit. Actually there weren't many people there and a lot of the people, we knew, so it rocked. We were between Holly and Amy and that was perfect. Amy and I did some hardcore Matt girl bonding. That's right, Amy, don't try to deny what you are.

At first Matt was wearing a stupid white baseball cap and a white tie around the neck of an opaque red button-up shirt. He looked like a dumbass. Everyone else looked hot. But of course, Matt eventually shed the hat and took off the tie. And proceeded to tie his own wrists together with it, with intriguing agility. Folks, and you thought the blindfold was bad. Amy had to sub for Crystal in hand squeeze duty but since Amy works out and was "not okay" at this point in the show, she nearly broke my hand. Sooooo... after "Body Parts," which was the song in which the binding occured (it lasted through some of the next song as well) we held up our "Fifteen!" poster. "Right. [higher pitched Amelie voice] Fifteen," Matt said. Ha, I wonder if he was embarrassed. Serves him right. Ooof. When I pointed out to Amy that he could tie himself up, she nearly decked me. Hee. Oh, during "Cathedrals" he was also on his back playing the accordion. For once it was not a boring song... Oh, someone shoot me. Anyway.

Jay cursed inappropriately throughout the show and made disparaging remarks about the audience (note: I am not being serious) but he's a heavenly vision, so who cares. Jonny looked hot, for some reason. So did Evan despite wearing an old-man hat for most of the show, and Ward was not wearing his godforsaken jeans for once. God, I'm so fucking shallow.

So anyway, it was a fun little show. "Ocean Grace" and "Just a Second" were the highlights. Plus, there was a pre-binding "Pink Lemonade" that incorporated "Losing My Religion." (I think I'm going to refer to everything in my life before that event as "pre-binding," like BC.) Instead of "You Are My Sunshine" we sang that chorus instead, but I think a nice mix would have been to sing, "You are my religion, my only religion." The audience also ended up singing the last part of the song. Yelling it, really. Hee. It ruled.

Okay, I'm going to eat and return later.

You know what? I think GeoCities's maintenance the other day was to fuck up my pages that had over 40K on them, like the clique and Tea Time and Quotes 5, which are currently inaccessible. Grr. I'll fix that later....

There's not much more. It was rather a good old-fashioned Jump show, where you were sweaty and tired and giggling afterwards. Dave and Adam picked me up and met each other. I got a can of Coke. After I showed Ward my Ward Award and possibly unwittingly insulted him, I took my Opies to the car (good thing so Jeremy couldn't eat them) and changed into my ridiculous ho boots, and got Matt's birthday present. We all sat on the curb and hung out. Literally, actually, because Hung was there, making people poke his stomach. Boo convincingly argued that I had boobs. Brooke laid on the sidewalk. Dave's pants fell down.

Matt finally appeared and was gradually backed into the corner by the mob. The windows were mirrored. Heh. Aaaaanyway, Amy brought him his brownies, but Ward, who was supposed to also have brownies, was packing up. Unconcerned about Ward's birthday brownie needs, Matt continued to eat the brownies as if they were all his, shrugging when Amy protested. "That's okay. I'm used to him stealing stuff from me," Ward said with a certain lack of humor. I gave Matt his present -- "Is it pot?" "No," I said, exasperated -- and talked about summer plans, and Amy and I finally showed him the poster and reminded him that it was us. He seemed bemused. Heh.

Then I was snubbed by Ward and Jonny (Ward was bitter I guess, and Jonny wanted to go home) and then off we went! We dropped Allen off first and then went back to Boo's. Pip and Cha and Brooke and I slept in the spare room. I kind of had a hard time sleeping because every time I wanted to draw a deep breath, there'd be a burning sensation because of old cigarette smoke. We slept for a good while. I find that Opiates only take showers after a post-show sleep if they have to go to another show that day. If they're just going home, they wait 'til they get home. We played some more with Ziggy and watched him maul Megan, and sadly we departed. I can still see forlorn Megan behind her screen door. Awwww! And Pip and Boo leaning over the railing.

On the way back I read half of The Bell Jar while my 3 Opies perched on the back of the seat, looking like the Pep Boys, and we ate at KFC. "Jesus fucking Christ!" Rachel said as she took a monster potato wedge that was naturally dubbed The Jay Clifford Potato Wedge. Brooke managed to not eat it in a suggestive manner. That's our tasteful Brookie.

Look at that, I recapped. Go me.

I love you all!

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade