*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2000-09-25��what makes you hot? oh, you know the rest (athens & b'ham)

Oh my gah, Jasmine and I had the most frustrating conversation last night. I mean frustrating in a very good way. Frustrating in that I couldn't walk or see straight after I hung up the phone. I thought our talk some days back was pretty bad, but this one takes the cake. The red velvet cake.

So the shows were bad ass. Time for tidbits and commentary. I should probably eat eventually, maybe go to class. I can't even get all the fun this weekend into words so I'll just write random stuff.

I was in the car with Christine and Cha and Christine's brother and mom. Cha is a cute little Ward girl. She brought a cowboy hat with her and he ended up wearing it onstage. The purple feather was unecessary, I thought. But whatever. If something leads Ward to swing his pelvis around like a cowboy, even a goofy one, I can't really complain about it.

I was on the Jonny side of the stage, with Michelle and her people. Michelle kicks ass, and I'm not just saying that because she reads this. :-)

At one point Sara got Jonny to pull her onstage in order to get a pic of the audience. Sara was near me for a little while. When Matt came into the audience to dance she was next to him.

So Dayroom reformed briefly and played "Cheap Wine" during the encore. Ward ran around like a maniac and was near Jonny a lot, heh heh. He actually did that breakdancing move, the snake. I did not see that coming. He was horsing around with Jonny, taking his mike, and Jonny poured some water on his head. Ward also did this thing where he went up to his cello stool from behind and somehow slid on it pelvis first. I have no idea how he did that.

After the show I went up to Matt and the first thing he said was "I had a really good time with Chrissy." Loni and I were delighted and we all talked about Chrissy a little. It was cute.

I told Matt I had not been especially looking forward to the show but that it had actually blown me away. From onstage Ward hugged me and Matt laughed. He said, "What did you think of Ward's antics tonight?" I don't really remember what I said. Loni dragged me away from Matt and Ward as I waved.

We spent the night at Nicole's with Stephanie Anne and Mary Beth. Loni and I stayed up giggling for a long time.

The next day after stopping at Robyn's house and then going to pick up her nephew for his first show we arrived and got in line at the Music Hall. We stood with Ruthie and Paul and Ethan. Jonny came along and Ethan gave him five, and then they started doing patty-cake. Jonny tried to teach Ethan Miss Mary Mack. It was the cutest thing ever. He was so serious about it.

Loni and I grabbed a place and hung around. Rae and Ian were there too, but not near our place. Rae told me Loni looked like a girly version of Matt.

At first Loni and I were 2 back, off to the right. However, later in the show, a girl who was in the front row, to my left got my attention. "Anne, my friend left, you can have her spot," she said. So I got up there, and it was smack dab in front of Ward. This was Emily from Opium who recognized me from my page.

I was all jealous that Chrissy got to see Ward's belly. But this was rectified. Not to sound crass, (ha ha) but his jeans started about two inches below his navel, so, there was some, um, happy trail stuff happening. I did NOT just write that. Oh God.

After the show the cop was kicking everyone out. Matt was packing stuff up by himself on stage. I sauntered over to say Hi and he said he had been thinking a lot about what I said in Athens, about not being excited about the show. I love how when Matt and I talk we just talk at each other, not knowing what the other is talking about, but we keep talking anyway. I like hugging Matt since his hugs are so forceful. Loni came along and so did Robyn eventually. There was a lot of talking going on. Matt agreed that there were crappy pages in the webring! Ha. Matt's a wannabe geek. He doesn't know all that much about the internet but he thinks it's cool, so. Matt wanted to look at my show notepad. Uh-uh Matt! (We ended up letting him look at one page. That was close.)

Ward came onstage and leaned over to hug me. "Do you know that you do that?" he said. "What?" I asked. "That hug-step. When I go to hug you, you go like this [steps forward, with arms out]." "No. Is that BAD?" I asked jokingly. "No, I like it, it's cute," he said. I mean, really, how do other people do this? Stand there and WAIT for him to hug them?? Please!

We hung around for a while, us gals, and ran all over. Eventually we ended up outside. I talked with a girl behind Matt's back about how we both had always wanted to grab Matt's ass but were too shy. "Maybe we should all grab it at once," I suggested, but she argued that there wouldn't be enough room. Matt then read the one page out of my book as the hoochies around him listened intently. He seemed puzzled.

We talked to Jay a little. Someone reminded Jay of the cello concert after Ward's dinner at Robyn's. Jay said that he thought Ward was a better player with better vibrato. "Did you tell Ward that?" I asked. "Yes, I did," Jay replied. "Good."

Robyn was dying to leave but I hadn't said a final goodbye to Ward. Loni helped me interrupt. I hugged him and gave him another lollipop (yeah, yeah, roll your eyes.) "Oh, you rock, I love these." Then I said, "Um... you gave me a backrub in Asheville and it was really good--" he cut me off with "Oh yeah!" and turned me around there in the parking lot, right by my Arch Enemy and the Ho Girls, backrubbed the hell outta me. Shoulder and small of the back. "How ya doin'?" he said. It was so weird. When he was done, I said, "And for that, you get Play-Doh," and handed him a small jar. That cracked him up. Then we left.

Robyn was really mad at me for making them wait, but frankly, too bad. I don't even know why Robyn takes me to shows and lets me stay with her. We've never gotten along.

Then we went back to Robyn's. I couldn't sleep. I barely ate or slept at all on the whole trip. It messed me up and made me sick! Oh well. I got home at 7 on Sunday and later I called Jasmine.

I think that's about it.

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade