*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2001-09-23��applebee's margaritas are tasty but ineffective.

Did you know that a chemical in asparagus mimics human pheromone? Asparagus as an aphrodisiac: Who knew? ;)

I tried to wake up about 10 this morning but just couldn't do it. So, I woke up a little before 12 and once again missed hearing "Vertigo" on the radio. Manashi said "Too High" was on too. But then, I've heard them both before, most recently on Dresden's show on Thursday. Which I missed, because I had to go to sleep. Because I'd been up talking to my Erin the night before. But oh well, not everyone in the band was there after all.

Anyway, the water line has been shut off almost all day because of a big main break, so I couldn't shower or clean my bathroom (which really, really needs it). Last time I called the Utilities Department guy was saying it'd be about 10, because it's raining now ("Water, water everywhere....") and that probably is hampering the effort. Hopefully it'll all be in order tomorrow morning. I don't want to go to work all gross. I do have to go in, because I'll be swamped. I got the stuff I took home done, though, with no major problems.

So yesterday, I got my hair cut and brows waxed, bought shampoo at the Clinique counter, went to Old Navy, bought Harry Potter 3 in paperback on sale, and picked up Chinese food. I made plans that Manashi and Chris would meet me at my place, and then we'd go somewhere. Manashi and I had already tossed around the idea of doing something on Saturday night, but Chris called her on Saturday morning, so it all came together like that. I have a feeling today that Chris didn't want me to go along, so that was why he was a jerk to me for a lot of the evening, both in the car and at Applebee's. I don't deal well in groups of three to begin with, plus when people I've known for a while start getting to know each other it makes me nervous (it's a big neurosis of mine, and last time I got into it here I got in trouble), so I wasn't having the best time. Plus, I don't enjoy being used as the butt of jokes in order to attempt to impress someone. I also don't enjoy being pointedly left out and treated as if I am 12. I'm well aware that I'm not as cool or pretty as all the other girls we know, but that doesn't mean I should be outright punished for it; I'll take casual, everyday discrimination from the public at large instead, thank you very much! ;)

This isn't the first time this has happened with him, either. I don't blame the girls, though; the girls rock. I can't even resent them, because they're my friends. It's not a big deal, it's just irritating.

In addition, every now and then I poke fun at my friends because I love them and I know I don't mean it meanly (and I assume they know, too), but usually when my friends tease me, I automatically assume they mean it, because I don't know where they're coming from. It doesn't happen very often and when it does, I don't say anything. I'm always afraid they won't like me anymore if I say something, plus I'm no good at arguing (I get too into it). Well, fuck that if it means I have to put up with bullshit. Something even happened in a phone conversation last week that I'm tempted to bring up again, because while what I said was an honest case of misphrasing, her reply to it was deliberately aimed at one of my sore points, I'm pretty sure. But then, I could let it go. This particular friendship has a lot of communication in it, however, so I think I may mention it just to get it over with. Either that or resentment will build up. I'm just babbling now....

I'm going to see Julie on Saturday at the instore. I'm working this week on a mixtape or two for her. Emily just turned two, so if you're going, look for us three. Julie and Emily can't go to the show that night, but I'll be there. I can't wait to see everyone! Work is fine, but it's getting a bit old and I need a break.

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade