*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2001-09-26��"oh, come, angel band/ come and around me stand...."

I am obsessed with the Stanley Brothers' 1955 version of "Angel Band." Also with the Alison Krauss and Gillian Welch version of "I'll Fly Away." This stuff reminds me of my American Folklore class a few years ago and what we learned about Lomax recordings and whatnot. That was a good class.

So, after work yesterday I bought "Vertigo," but I didn't listen to it until that night. I mean, I'd heard all the album tracks weeks ago, but I was nervous to listen to it on headphones. I still have mixed feelings about it. But I brought it with me and listened to it on the way to work, and I do like it.

I bought a copy for my mother and she listened to the whole thing twice at work today, and even made notes. Yes. We had some amusing words about it in the car, some of which can be seen here. She's going to write up an extended review that I plan to give to someone in the band on Saturday. Probably Matt, because my mother's a Matt girl, or as I corrected her, "a Matt woman." She would go herself, but tomorrow's her 26th anniversary or something, plus she's scared of Matt.

The weather this week has been beautiful. This is my favorite time of year. It literally has a physical effect on my wellbeing, or something. Anyway, I like it. Man, am I tired.

Tomorrow is jeans day, and then Friday is also jeans day, and then Saturday is CONCERT DAY!

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade