*seven days* - a j,lc website e-mail me my profile diaryland dot com older entries rings and cliques sign my guestbook

backward | forward

2003-01-02��and so, a new year.

So the girl who finally gave me Advil at Dock Street when no one else had it and I almost had to wait for Kate to come back inside because Shannon said she had some stuff turned out to be Katie Ett, which I realized after I got home. But I'm not supposed to say that as she is supposed to forever be Anonymous Mysterious Girl with the Bag of Pills. Shhhhh.

Sara reminded me inadvertently early this morning of meaning to write to the Gwinnett Daily Post about jobs, originally on J. Kristin's advice (she wrote about me in an article on Jump once). I wrote to the address J. Kristin (how does one refer in shorthand to people who abbreviate their first names without being awkward?) gave me this morning, and today the guy replied saying that he'd forwarded it to the woman who is in charge of hiring new reporters. Sara said that the position she'd seen on JournalismJobs was general reporter, and J. Kristin said that they were pretty much always hiring. I don't know, I just want a job where I can wear jeans and have Internet access, and it can't hurt to look.

Oh, I signed up for the black and white drawing class at Callanwolde that will be taught by the same teacher who taught colored pencil class and who liked my work so much.

And now, New Year's Resolutions.

I'm not too attached to this notion, since if you believe astrology at all, Sags are not much at all for commitment. I also don't like listing things or quantitativeness (yes, that is a word) in general, which is why a lot of Buddhism doesn't seem to suit me (7 of this, 36 of that, 3 of the other, etc.). But in addition to discussions with friends, I have been looking at horoscope profiles of myself, and consulting tarot, and there are some general themes I need to look at.

* Self-confidence and related issues. This is a tricky matter as many of you are aware. When I'm "on," I can get all kinds of things done, and I can kick some ass. My old demons sometimes get in the way -- paranoia, self-doubt, etc. -- and hamper me even though I know I'm a worthy person and whatnot. People keep telling me I should have better self-esteem, confidence, etc. and I appreciate that and they have to be on to something. I mean when Matt Bivins tells you something it has to be true. Tongue lovingly in cheek, right there.

* I'm rapidly getting over worrying about being ugly. Lots of people are ugly and it doesn't seem to be that big of a deal overall. I mean, sure, it'd be nice to be drop-dead gorgeous, but what are you gonna do? I can always count on Stacey to tell me I'm beautiful if need be ;)

* I decided sometime today to quit hyberbolating (probably not a word, but it should be) to myself about "never having a boyfriend." Dramatically declaring things to oneself may cure boredom, but it ultimately does no good. Time will tell.

I hope I can stick with those. I'm going to have to "trick" myself and not really think of them as New Year's Resolutions as just Things I Am Doing and Will Continue to Do.

backward | forward

my livejournal
*smooch*
yar!

s-k little babies
j,lc // pink lemonade